A Note on Faith

August 20, 2010 § Leave a comment


“Faith” is something I didn’t understand for a long time. Not only that, but when I *thought* I understood it, I largely disagreed with the entire concept. To me, faith was something deluded followers of Abrahamic religions used to deny the truth – it respesented an excuse to follow blindly, to ignore the facts, to act without knowledge.

I do still think faith is that way for some people. On the other hand, with the proper knowledge, faith can mean something entirely different. To me, faith has become what you feel when you know something is real and true, you just don’t seem to have all the details yet. And until you do enough work to get those details (and you do work, and you do strive for knowledge, this is key) then faith is what keeps you motivated.

I accept that sometimes I don’t know how I got here. I accept that every once in a while, I wonder where this quest will lead, and I get scared. Faith is what keeps me energized and stable, and keeps me on the path. Where most people would quiver with uncertainty I have no problem holding my own – I know what I know, and I’ve reached a point where finally being able to trust myself and have confidence in myself has meant I also have faith in Satan.

Faith means that I have gotten far enough out of my comfort zone that I’m not familiar with the road anymore. I know what my destination is, what it will feel like – I just haven’t worked out exactly how I’ll get there yet, and I don’t know exactly where I am.

I don’t mind.

I’m not worried.

Ipsa scientia potestas est,

Emily R.S.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Note on Faith at Ouroboros Electric.

meta