Wicca

October 4, 2010 § 2 Comments


I had said on twitter I probably wouldn’t post today, considering I’m awfully ill (terribly chest congestion/cough/sinus/plague type thing) (yes I know I’m being hyperbolic by calling it the plague, but seriously I feel awful). However, despite feeling crappy and overusing parentheses, I really do want to make this post. I’ve had an urge to post on a few subjects today, so I may cover a few things. Mostly though, I want to sum up what I’ve discovered about Wicca.

I wanted to look into Wicca because of the more underground religions, Wicca seems incredibly popular, especially with people my age and younger. I had never really looked into it, because my first exploration into the occult was through Satanism, and I had allied myself with the point-down pentagram. By contrast, Wicca’s point-up pentagram seemed too mainstream and cheery for my rebellious sensibilities. That prejudice persisted for a long time, but as seems to be the theme of this blog – I’m older now, and more open, and trying to learn about things I wouldn’t otherwise look into.

I perused a few sites on Wicca before I found one I really liked (which I’ll get into later). The first few gave a general overview, and I can tell you if there’s anything I learned it’s this:

The Wiccan Rede: “An it harm none, do what ye will”

That is EVERYWHERE. I have to say, I’m not a huge fan. Maybe it’s the Satanist in me, but I think that’s too limiting for an ethical absolute. And I’m a vegetarian! I do what I can not to cause harm where it isn’t necessary, but sometimes you have to do what you have to do. I prefer Crowley’s version “Do what thou wilt” but not as a call to hedonism – as some misconstrue it – but a command to follow your innermost Will, your true magical calling. The split between personal ego and spiritual Will is essential to me, and I don’t know that the Wiccan Rede follows that. Also worth noting is that “rede” means advice, not law.

More worth noting about Wicca:

-Wiccans worship a deity (deities?) referred to sometimes as the Godess, or God and Godess, or God-ess. There is a dualism there, but not necessarily a dichotomy.

-Wiccans are earth based, and worship and appreciate nature deeply.

-Wicca is decentralized, and many different traditions and factions of Wicca exist

-Wicca is not Satanism. That should be obvious.

Most of what I read on Wicca seemed to support my earlier prejudices – that Wicca is a cheery, earth worshipping, hippie religion. That is, until I found a website called Wicca, For The Rest of Us which taught me otherwise, at least to an extent. The site makes a point of fighting against the “fluffy bunny” wiccans who fit my prejudice. It’s easy to see why I had such prejudice, the only Wiccans I ever met were in high school. Not that you can’t be serious about your spiritual beliefs in high school, but they’re usually a little underdeveloped at that age.

I adore the tone the author of the site takes, and admired his/her devotion to contrasting those that give Wicca such a bad name in such a intellectual and intelligent way. I genuinely respect the effort. Despite the effort, however, it’s still not for me.

It doesn’t seem to have enough of an emphasis on transcendence for me to like it. My whole philosophy is about constantly reinventing myself to become a better, more efficient, capable human being. I’m sure that’s at least part of Wiccan philosophy, but it’s not a big enough part for me to want to adhere to it. I much prefer Satanism’s emphasis on the individual and becoming “adept”. I am glad that I looked into Wicca though, and I’m  incredibly glad there are people out there that aren’t “fluffy bunny” wiccans. We need less fluffy bunny people in the whole occult scene, in my opinion.

Ipsa scientia potestas est,

E.R.S.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Wicca

  • I, as a studying Wiccan, find people’s description of ‘fluffy bunny’ Wiccans very confusing. What exactly do you mean like this? Do you simply mean those Wiccans who choose to follow their own feelings rather than conform to a coven or structure? With all due respect, if this is true, then i find it quite offensive towards people like me who sometimes prefer to practice solitary. Thanks.

    • Emily R.S. says:

      I appreciate your question – I definitely have nothing against anyone who practices solitary, not at all. By “fluffy bunny” I mean people (usually high school kids) who are claiming to be Wiccan just to be cool (not to say that high schoolers can’t be serious practicioners, but few are). Or, “fluffy bunny” can also refer to those who apply the “harm none” principle too strictly, being exceptionally gentle when a firm stance would be more fitting. There’s a more fleshed out explanation of this on the website I linked to in the original post.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wicca at Ouroboros Electric.

meta